Friday, January 17, 2014

Chamber Installs Officers and Presents Awards

Last night, more than 200 members of the Destin Area Chamber of Commerce gathered at the Emerald Coast Convention Center to celebrate 2013 successes and install the 2014 Officers and Board of Directors.  

One event highlight included the presentation of the Six Pillars Community Designation to the Crestview Area, Destin Area, Greater Fort Walton Beach, and Niceville Valparaiso Chambers of Commerce and the EDC of Okaloosa County.

Following the Six Pillars Community Designation, outgoing Chamber Chairman Mary Anne Windes of Real Estate Professionals of Destin, Inc., presented the 2013 annual awards.

The James D. Neilson, Sr., Chairman’s Award for Volunteer Service was given to Capt. Mike and Kathy Eller in recognition of their service to the community and to the Destin Seafood Festival.

The Business Person of the Year Award was given to Charles Morgan of Harbor Docks Restaurant.

“Not only is he one of the most successful restaurateurs in Destin, he uses his success to help others in need through many charitable events every year,” explained Windes.  “He is one of the strongest supporters of buying and consuming local seafood, running one of the most aggressive and creative advertising campaigns ever seen.”

The Ann Gibson Community Service Award was given to Audrey Jacobs of Coastal Bank and Trust for her service to countless local non-profit organizations.  Her nomination form stated, “the long-term effects of her active service to our community will be seen by many generations.”

The winner of the Paul Woolman Ambassador of the Year Award was Bill Head, for his untiring service to the Chamber and its Ambassador Program.  He is typically the first to volunteer, the first to arrive, and the last to leave Chamber events.

Retired Gen. Joe Oder presented the Retired Military Person of the Year Award to Destin City Councilor Jim Wood.

"This year's winner has done so much for the community that we can't begin to describe it all," said Oder. "Seldom do you attend something in this community and not see him."

Outgoing Board members recognized with a plaque for their service included Mike Freeman, Acentria Insurance; Cyndy Thomas, Wyndham Vacation Rentals; and Charles Morgan, Harbor Docks Restaurant.  Those not present included Andi Mahoney, White-Wilson Medical Center; Carey Trotter, Trotter’s General Contractors, Inc.; and Jim Breitenfeld, Breitenfeld Development Services.

Past Chairmen helped Windes pass the gavel onto 2014 Chairman Amy Perry, Pleat, Perry & Ritchie, P.A.  

The rest of the 2014 Executive Committee includes Chairman Elect Ken Wampler, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, Inc.; Immediate Past Chairman Mary Anne Windes, Real Estate Professionals of Destin, Inc.; Treasurer Jonathan Ochs, Trustmark National Bank; Vice Chairman – Communications & Marketing Julie Cotton, Northwest Florida State College;  Vice Chairman – Community & Economic Development Hayward Dykes, Conerly, Bowman & Dykes, LLP; Vice Chairman – Membership Development Rebecca Jones, Fort Walton Beach Medical Center; and Vice Chairman – Harbor Advisory Board Jami Jones, Destin Charter Service.

Other members of the 2014 Board of Directors include Jeramie Bates, Wyndham Vacation Rentals; Shaun Eubanks, Barton, Fenstermaker, Tondello & Associates, LLC; Steve Jay, Warren Averett; Pam Martin, Gulf Power; Dave Morrow, Allstate Insurance – Ryland/Morrow Agency; Bob Perry, Destin Commons; Paul Schreiner, Carrabba’s Italian Grill; Lockwood Wernet, Destin Water Users, Inc.; Most Recent Immediate Past Chairman Ex-Officio Bill Lindsley, SimpleHR/SimplerHIRE; Chairman’s Appointee Fred Fenn, Fenn Properties, LLC; Chairman’s Appointee Michelle Terry, Dale E. Peterson Vacations; Special Appointee Karen McCarthy, Army Aviation Center Federal Credit Union; and Special Appointee Kim Wintner, Alliance Association Management Co., Inc.

Event attendees also enjoyed comedian Marty Simpson and a silent auction.  For more photos, like us on Facebook.

No comments:

Post a Comment